The Replay Factor

For what feels like the 20th weekend in a row, my Mother is blaring Barry Manilow’s greatest hits downstairs, which got me thinking, why God? Why? But it also made me think, are there any albums that you never get sick of listening to?

Often, the very best albums are ones where you keep picking up on new and exciting parts which you haven’t noticed before. This thirst for discovery and finding something new is an innate part of human nature, so satisfying that is abundantly satisfying. However sometimes it’s not necessarily the most complex and intricate albums which are the ones that you keep going back to. Something that is easy to digest is regularly the most immediately satisfying. Whether I’m just in the car going to work or sat in my bedroom with headphones in, something that is instantly gratifying time after time is the way I tend to go.

For me an album that I have listened to a copious amount of times and will probably continue to do so is Ryan Adams‘ 2014 self titled album ‘Ryan Adams’. What makes this album so great for me is it’s relative simplicity, neither the lyrics nor the music pretend to be something they’re not, they aren’t pretentious, they are just straight up rock. Don’t for a minute think that my suggesting the album is simple is in anyway a reflection of laziness or lack of depth in the work, because I don’t believe that for a minute, what it does so well is keeps things very uncomplicated. You don’t have to be a die-hard music aficionado to connect with this album, but you could be and still be enthralled by it.

The next reason why I can continue to listen to this album time and time again is because of the dynamic throughout the album, there are softer moments like ‘Wrecking Ball’ and big power ballad moments like ‘Stay With Me’, but the important thing is it never lulls. For me no track is skippable and perhaps that’s what keeps bringing me back.

I don’t want to go on too much about ‘Ryan Adams’ because I could write an essay on why I think it’s great, which isn’t the point of this post, but I’d like to know what are some of the albums that you can listen to over and over again without getting sick of? As always leave your comments below and if you’ve got any topics you think we should cover or that you’d like to cover, let us know.

One thought on “The Replay Factor

  1. The Doors self titled first album is one I never eggy tired of. Every song is amazing. Arcade Fire’s Neon Bible is another one that goes on that list. There are others, but if I had to narrow it down, those would be my 2 picks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

